Yawn, A Political Blog Post

Does anyone understand why Ohio and New Hampshire are the first two states that participate in the Presidential Election process? Personally, the only thing I can figure out is somewhere along the way, someone determined that Ohio represents what the Heartland thinks and New Hampshire represents . . . something, I haven’t figured that out. Maybe lumberjacks, which I believe is a very important voter block in that part of the country. Seriously.

The whole primary thing is strange. I took Poli-Sci in college and got a decent grade too, so I’m not a complete idiot (there’s always room for improvement), but I’ve never understood why the process seems to be a few states here, a state there, and a few more states across the way. Nor have I fully understood why each state seems to have a different delegate process, caucus, closed primary, open primary, or what have you.

Maybe this nonsense all made sense 125 years ago when the candidates stumped by train, but in the twenty-first century we have not only the ability to get from coast to coast in a few hours, we have a well-maintained interstate highway system, and we have live, instantaneous transmission of news and information. We certainly aren’t limited to the telegraph, Morse Code, and Pony Express any longer.

So why can’t the states all adopt an open primary system, like we had in Wisconsin? Had, meaning they changed it a few years ago because the Democrats feared there’d be hanky-panky with cross-party voting to screw things up. Which is silly because Wisconsin has had an open primary system (where you can vote for any candidate in any election regardless of party affiliation, a closed primary means you can only vote for one party) as long as I could remember and it was running perfectly. To me, that is true democracy having the ability to vote for the best CANDIDATE regardless of party.

In addition to adopting an open primary system throughout the United States, they should revamp the entire primary election system in regards to which states vote when. What is wrong with dividing the country into eight or ten segments, depending on how the regions break down population-wise or geographically or such, so that the candidates then spend about a month in each segment campaigning. They have the vote at the end of the month and the candidates move on to the next segment of the country.

The candidates are limited to only advertising in that segment of the country for that month. They can’t run national ads, but they can make the national talk show circuit and hold debates. That way those who want to listen to their two-faced palaver can, and those of us who’d rather watch Mythbusters and Dirty Jobs can do that, too. They need to be truly limited to just the part of the country where they are campaigning and leave the rest of the country alone.

The whole process would take eight to ten months to complete. It’s a win-win situation. We don’t have to start hearing about the elections and who’s running and all that other nonsense until December of the year prior to an election or even February (which is I think how it used to be until everything went crazy).

I mean seriously, who isn’t already sick of this whole campaign? It’s been going on for two years already. That isn’t necessary.

———

Rudy Giuliani signed his presidential campaign’s death warrant yesterday. While campaigning in Florida, one support wanted him to sign his Green Bay Packers hat. Giuliani refused, but did sign a New York Giants hat.

Packer Nation is bigger than Rudy could ever imagine. They won’t take this kind of snub lightly.

-30-

24 thoughts on “Yawn, A Political Blog Post

  1. Every election season, I spend an afternoon (it takes me no longer) to look at all the candidates, establish that they are all fools, they have no stance (or a bad stance) on censorship and ecology, and then I do what I do every time since I’ve been eligible to vote which is, I do not vote. And then I get roundly told off by old ladies for Not Having My Say.

    I keep pointing out that when someone does something with an issue I care about, I’ll vote. I could frankly care less what hoo-ha does what in the middle east, or some budget deficit, or some thingummy, wossname.

    I think we should just elect Zaphod Beeblebrox and be done with it. (I am not convinced we haven’t been repeatedly doing this for the past sixty years or so.)

    And I sadly remark, now and then, that we no longer live in a world where men like FDR, or one of my personal heroes, Winston Churchill, could rise to power and lead properly. They would never succeed at it.

  2. Every election season, I spend an afternoon (it takes me no longer) to look at all the candidates, establish that they are all fools, they have no stance (or a bad stance) on censorship and ecology, and then I do what I do every time since I’ve been eligible to vote which is, I do not vote. And then I get roundly told off by old ladies for Not Having My Say.I keep pointing out that when someone does something with an issue I care about, I’ll vote. I could frankly care less what hoo-ha does what in the middle east, or some budget deficit, or some thingummy, wossname.I think we should just elect Zaphod Beeblebrox and be done with it. (I am not convinced we haven’t been repeatedly doing this for the past sixty years or so.)And I sadly remark, now and then, that we no longer live in a world where men like FDR, or one of my personal heroes, Winston Churchill, could rise to power and lead properly. They would never succeed at it.

  3. We have no “statesmen” any more. They are all weasel-word, two-faced politicians. So I agree, statesmen like FDR or Churchill are rarities these days.

    And sadly, Pat Paulson died.

  4. We have no “statesmen” any more. They are all weasel-word, two-faced politicians. So I agree, statesmen like FDR or Churchill are rarities these days. And sadly, Pat Paulson died.

  5. I agree. And yes, throw tomatos if you will, but I do not vote. It matters not, and one of my huge peeves is the way we all find out exactly who’s just been elected before most of us here on the West Coast even have a chance to swing by the poles and cast a ballot after work !

    Stupidstupidstupid.

  6. I agree. And yes, throw tomatos if you will, but I do not vote. It matters not, and one of my huge peeves is the way we all find out exactly who’s just been elected before most of us here on the West Coast even have a chance to swing by the poles and cast a ballot after work !Stupidstupidstupid.

  7. Well, I hold no ill-will that neither of you votes. We have the right to vote or not vote, as far as I’m concerned. And considering we haven’t had anyone WORTHY of the presidency run in, well, many, many decades, I can see why some people don’t vote. It’s a waste of time.

    I vote, but my heart isn’t in it.

  8. Well, I hold no ill-will that neither of you votes. We have the right to vote or not vote, as far as I’m concerned. And considering we haven’t had anyone WORTHY of the presidency run in, well, many, many decades, I can see why some people don’t vote. It’s a waste of time.I vote, but my heart isn’t in it.

  9. Ironically, the people who rant about how I MUST VOTE AND HAVE MY SAY (the implication, underneath, is very nearly that if I don’t, I am clearly an evil terrorist.) are actually more likely to cement my non-voting position. It’s an almost manic fervor. It’s just weird. I am supposed to vote, to have an American flag in my pickup truck, listen to Toby Keith, and, er, I’m not sure what else.

    (And if that suddenly makes me sound anti-republican, then relax, I’m also anti-democrat, and anti-the-rest-of-them-too. I’m an equal opportunity disliker.)

  10. Ironically, the people who rant about how I MUST VOTE AND HAVE MY SAY (the implication, underneath, is very nearly that if I don’t, I am clearly an evil terrorist.) are actually more likely to cement my non-voting position. It’s an almost manic fervor. It’s just weird. I am supposed to vote, to have an American flag in my pickup truck, listen to Toby Keith, and, er, I’m not sure what else.(And if that suddenly makes me sound anti-republican, then relax, I’m also anti-democrat, and anti-the-rest-of-them-too. I’m an equal opportunity disliker.)

  11. Yeah, me too. I can get upset listening to either side’s opinions and positions.

    The problems with both parties is they don’t give a shit about America, they only care about their own party’s power.

  12. Yeah, me too. I can get upset listening to either side’s opinions and positions.The problems with both parties is they don’t give a shit about America, they only care about their own party’s power.

  13. I’ll have to agree with you lot. I don’t vote because what’s the point of picking which slimy politician you want to not really represent your interests?

    They don’t focus on solving the problems of the nation and improving things for the country.

    They use double talk and slick phrase that don’t mean anything.

    If we could get one person that spoke straight without all the mess and actually wanted to help the country, they wouldn’t be a politician. 🙂

  14. I’ll have to agree with you lot. I don’t vote because what’s the point of picking which slimy politician you want to not really represent your interests?They don’t focus on solving the problems of the nation and improving things for the country.They use double talk and slick phrase that don’t mean anything.If we could get one person that spoke straight without all the mess and actually wanted to help the country, they wouldn’t be a politician. 🙂

  15. Well, I vote, fly a flag in front of my house, own a pick up truck and have Toby Keith as the ringtone on my cell (Beer for my Horses. Great song.)

    But my heart isn’t really in the elections. The candidates are all about getting and staying elected. It really is depressing.

  16. Well, I vote, fly a flag in front of my house, own a pick up truck and have Toby Keith as the ringtone on my cell (Beer for my Horses. Great song.)But my heart isn’t really in the elections. The candidates are all about getting and staying elected. It really is depressing.

  17. Excuse me, I have to go kill Mary. 😉

    Having unfortunately watched thirty seconds of a debate the other night (don’t worry, the hives are fading), I realized that political candidates are also exactly like this:

    Urk.

  18. Excuse me, I have to go kill Mary. 😉Having unfortunately watched thirty seconds of a debate the other night (don’t worry, the hives are fading), I realized that political candidates are also exactly like this:

    Urk.

Leave a Reply

