Stupid Groundhog!

More winter is coming our way. The snowfall amount we have had already exceeds our normal average for a year. And starting tonight, they are expecting the biggest snowstorm of the season to hit us. Milwaukee is right in the bull’s eye, so to speak. Latest prediction: somewhere between 10 to 14 inches.

 

I’d love another snow day, but we’ll see. I’ve lived long enough to know that you can never trust weathermen. I’ve seen monster weather event predictions before that turned into nothing more than a few flurries. On the other hand, I’ve seen them predict clear skies and we’d get socked with several inches.

 

They’ll tell you it’s the effect of Lake Michigan that makes it hard to predict weather. I’ll tell you it’s because they have no idea what they’re doing and they never will. For all their fancy expensive gadgetry they really haven’t advanced any further than the old rheumatic knee of my great-grandmother. “My knee’s acting up, it’s a gonna rain!”

 

OK, I made that all up. I never met my great-grandmother. She was long dead before I was born.

 

This has been a weird winter so far. And very destructive. The roads are full of potholes, some so large as to hide VW Bugs in. I know, because I drove over one the other day. Thank goodness that VW was already in the hole or I might have damaged my own car.

 

That’s because we’ve had freezing temperatures followed by unseasonably warm temperatures followed by freezing temps again. Over and over all winter. We get a nice snow cover and it melts, then it turns to ice and snows again.

 

This thaw/freeze condition causes potholes, as I’m sure you all know. Water gets in the cracks in the road, freezes, expands and makes a bigger crack. Things thaw. More water gets in the crack. It freezes, expands, and *pop!* you’ve got a hole, which gets bigger and bigger with traffic and more thaw/freeze conditions until you have the one with the Bug in it that saved my car.

 

I wonder if I should have stopped to see if they needed help?

 

Anyway, we’ll know in about 10 hours if they’ve made the prediction rightly or wrongly.

 

-30-

Leave a Reply

