Format Wars and Other News

I was bitten once and as they say: once bitten, twice shy.

In the 1976 I bought into 8-Track tapes. I had a small collection of them and a nice portable 8-Track player. To be honest, I did it out of necessity. I was in California for a year going through Naval Training in San Diego.

A friend of mine had a car and that car had an 8-Track player in it. So unless I wanted to listen to James Taylor all the time, I had to buy my own tapes, and quickly, so we’d have a variety to listen to while in the car.

As we all know, 8-Track was quickly replaced by the smaller, and probably better, cassette tape.

After that, I’ve only watched the wars from the sideline, refusing to buy into any format until the smoke had cleared.

Betamax versus VHS? I sat that one out and didn’t buy a VHS machine until Betamax became a joke term for a bad purchase.

Laser disks? No way, man! Uh-uh.

CDs? I bought my first one in 1993. I wanted to make sure they really were going to replace vinyl. Which isn’t to say I got rid of my vinyl.

DVDs replacing VHS? I bought my first DVD in 2002 and then only because we had gotten an X-Box and it had the capability to play DVDs.

Now the most current war, Blu-Ray versus HD-DVD, again I sat on the sidelines waiting, watching, and wondering.

On February 15th, Wal-Mart threw its weight into the Blu-Ray camp, announced it was phasing out all HD-DVD merchandise and would only sell Blu-Ray discs and players.

That news was the death knell for HD-DVD and Toshiba didn’t wait long to make a decision. It announced on February 16th that they were throwing in the towel. They are halting production of all new HD-DVD machines.

Blu-Ray has won! Rejoice. Shout it from the highest mountains. Let everyone know it is finally safe to buy Blu-Ray discs and players.

Now the hardest decision will be, What Blu-Ray movie should I get first?

In other news, the US Department of Agriculture has just ordered the largest beef recall in American history. Something like 143 million pounds of beef is being recalled because the Hallmark Meat Packing in Chino, California has been mistreating and slaughtering sick or weak cattle. Here is a youtube video. I warn you, it’s pretty graphic.

In the wake of this information, I hear the California Milk Advisory Board is considering changing their slogan from “Great Cheese comes from happy Cows” to the more appropriate “Damned cows, they better be happy or else!”

OK, that was a long way to go for that joke.

-30-

22 thoughts on “Format Wars and Other News

  1. I haven’t used my VHS to record something in years. Not since we got DVR (digital video recording) capabilities.

    I take it you don’t rent much, because nobody even carries pre-recorded VHS tapes any more.

  2. I haven’t used my VHS to record something in years. Not since we got DVR (digital video recording) capabilities.I take it you don’t rent much, because nobody even carries pre-recorded VHS tapes any more.

  3. Grrrr, I hadn’t seen the Blu-Ray announcement. I went along for the ride with DVDs just because I like them better than VHS… if I have to cough up for a Blu-Ray machine, it damn well better still play my DVDs. I’m not replacing them.

    /end grousing

  4. Grrrr, I hadn’t seen the Blu-Ray announcement. I went along for the ride with DVDs just because I like them better than VHS… if I have to cough up for a Blu-Ray machine, it damn well better still play my DVDs. I’m not replacing them. /end grousing

  5. Carrie, Blu-Ray machines should be backward compatible. I know what you mean about replacing. I’ve got a nice library going.

    Orion, I wish I was from Hawaii, but I get that a lot. Even back in high school. A friend used to call me, Hula Hula. It’s actually Slovanian.

  6. Carrie, Blu-Ray machines should be backward compatible. I know what you mean about replacing. I’ve got a nice library going.Orion, I wish I was from Hawaii, but I get that a lot. Even back in high school. A friend used to call me, Hula Hula. It’s actually Slovanian.

  7. No need to panic for those of us who don’t have HD anyway. Regular DVD’s will still be made, they’re only stopping the HD DVD format and opting for the high definition of Blu-ray.

    Those of us who didn’t go into all that HD hype can still buy and watch our regular non-hi def DVDs 🙂

  8. No need to panic for those of us who don’t have HD anyway. Regular DVD’s will still be made, they’re only stopping the HD DVD format and opting for the high definition of Blu-ray.Those of us who didn’t go into all that HD hype can still buy and watch our regular non-hi def DVDs 🙂

  9. For now. You don’t think that now that Blu-Ray has won the movie producers won’t start promoting, and selling this new format WHICH COSTS MORE THAN REGULAR DVDS?

    Soon all new releases will only appear on Blu-Ray. This happened with vinyl. At first the two were produced and sold side by side, then slowly vinyl was phased out. The same happened with VHS tapes. Do they even sell new VHS tapes?

    No, it’s only a matter of time and all you’ll be able to buy is Blu-Ray.

    Then the next big format will arrive.

  10. For now. You don’t think that now that Blu-Ray has won the movie producers won’t start promoting, and selling this new format WHICH COSTS MORE THAN REGULAR DVDS?Soon all new releases will only appear on Blu-Ray. This happened with vinyl. At first the two were produced and sold side by side, then slowly vinyl was phased out. The same happened with VHS tapes. Do they even sell new VHS tapes?No, it’s only a matter of time and all you’ll be able to buy is Blu-Ray.Then the next big format will arrive.

  11. When I can’t buy regular DVD’s, I stop watching movies. I’m tired of all this format switching, buying new things stuff. I’ll pay per view, wait for broadcast, or heck – read a book !

  12. When I can’t buy regular DVD’s, I stop watching movies. I’m tired of all this format switching, buying new things stuff. I’ll pay per view, wait for broadcast, or heck – read a book !

  13. Oh, but a DVR is different from a DVD recorder. Remember the old TIVO commercials? “You can pause live TV!” DVR is a capability of a lot of cable and satellite television systems. Its kinda cool. Whenever I visit someone else who doesn’t can’t pause or rewind their TV I get really frustrated. Heck, when I listen to the radio and I miss what someone says I look for the rewind button. 🙂

  14. Oh, but a DVR is different from a DVD recorder. Remember the old TIVO commercials? “You can pause live TV!” DVR is a capability of a lot of cable and satellite television systems. Its kinda cool. Whenever I visit someone else who doesn’t can’t pause or rewind their TV I get really frustrated. Heck, when I listen to the radio and I miss what someone says I look for the rewind button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

