I Wanted to Give Blood

Really. That was my intention. The company was having a Blood Drive and I had every intention to give blood. So I went to the website to make an appointment. I clicked on a timeslot and was all set to give blood.

Then when I came in for the appointment they said, “I see you volunteered for the Apheresis Double Red Cell.”

The what?

“The Apheresis Double Red Cell.”

What’s that?

“They take out the components of the blood and give you back what they don’t need.”

Oh?

“Takes about 45 minutes.”

Hmm.

“Did you still want to do that?”

45 minutes away from work relaxing on a table? Hell yeah.

So I sit down and start reading through the warnings, something about air embolisms and unknown risk factors and I’m really happy to be there.

Air embolism?

“Oh, it never happens.”

I’ll be the first.

“Oh? Good, because I know what to do in case that happens.”

Peachy. And why are there unknown risk factors?

“Because we haven’t been doing this long enough.”

So I’m a guinea pig.

“Right. In a hundred years if you develop something, you can come back and we’ll make a note of it. Then it won’t be unknown any more.”

Peachy.

So they hook me up, I have to pump my fist every five seconds. So far so good, it’s like giving blood.

“See that bag there?”

The one filled with beer?

“Yes, that’s your plasma, that’s what’s left of your blood after we took out the red cells.”

Figures my blood is composed of beer.

Then, after about ten minutes or so she says, “Stop squeezing.”

And I do. Then I notice my arm getting cold.

“Feel anything?”

My arm is cold.

“Yes, that’s the components being returned to you. Your lips might also tingle and you’ll get a metallic taste in your mouth.”

My lips are tingling.

“See? Told you.”

Why?

“It has something to do with the anticoagulants interacting with the calcium in your body.”

Oh.

Then after about ten more minutes she said, “You can start squeezing again.”

Again?

“Yes, it doesn’t take long for your blood to cycle through your body and now we’ll take some more.”

More?

“Hello. ‘Double.’”

I’ll need a double when this is over.

So the process repeats, suck out, put back, tingly lips and a slight dizziness. Then it was all over and I was by the refreshments having a V-8 and a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie.

I wanted to give blood, but instead I gave just my red blood cells. And I feel good about it, and not just because I got to blow off work for an hour.

-30-

14 thoughts on “I Wanted to Give Blood

  1. Very interesting! I’m debating attempting to give blood at a drive tomorrow. I never have and I have a fear of needles, so I need to work up the courage.

  2. Very interesting! I’m debating attempting to give blood at a drive tomorrow. I never have and I have a fear of needles, so I need to work up the courage.

  3. Good for you, Ed. I used to give blood regularly, but then after I had my son, not only was my metabolism adversely affected, but my base temperature is now over 99º, and they won’t take blood if your temp is over 99º. I understand that it’s a flag for infection, but I’m not infected. I’m just weird.

    As in every other aspect of my life. *sigh*

    I miss giving blood. The cookies kicked ass. 😀

  4. Good for you, Ed. I used to give blood regularly, but then after I had my son, not only was my metabolism adversely affected, but my base temperature is now over 99º, and they won’t take blood if your temp is over 99º. I understand that it’s a flag for infection, but I’m not infected. I’m just weird. As in every other aspect of my life. *sigh*I miss giving blood. The cookies kicked ass. 😀

  5. Congratulations, Ed. I always wondered how it worked when they took just the red blood cells.

    Carrie, I don’t have your problem. My base temperature is 96.7. By the time my actual temp is up to 99.0 degrees, I’m not going anywhere. Between the two of us, we balance each other out. 😉

  6. Congratulations, Ed. I always wondered how it worked when they took just the red blood cells. Carrie, I don’t have your problem. My base temperature is 96.7. By the time my actual temp is up to 99.0 degrees, I’m not going anywhere. Between the two of us, we balance each other out. 😉

  7. See Ed I laugh at you on the internet not just in real life 🙂

    I am really proud you did that–especially since Dad is going through so much right now. -mrsferret

  8. See Ed I laugh at you on the internet not just in real life 🙂I am really proud you did that–especially since Dad is going through so much right now. -mrsferret

Leave a Reply

