Musical Monday: Love Songs

Musical Monday: Love Songs

Today, to be different, I thought I’d feature the genre: love songs.

I know what you’re saying, “Ed, love songs? Srsly? You disappoint.”

And you’d be right, that is if I was going to post James Taylor or The Carpenters. That isn’t me. I’m not even going to post any power ballads. That isn’t me, either. So bear with me as I post love songs from hell.

So let’s start off with Black Sabbath “N.I.B.” Aside from it being a kickass classic metal song, it’s also a love song as told from the Point of View of… well, I don’t want to give that away, do I? That would spoil the fun. Bwahahaha!

Next we have a very touching song of love by AC/DC titled, “Love at First Feel.” How can you not be touched by a song with the lines I didn’t know if you were legal tender, But I spent you just the same?

Here is Alice Cooper’s “Is It My Body.” OK, technically, not a love song, more of a self-absorbed song of narcissism. But I like it. So give it a listen.

A better example of a love song by Alice Cooper is “I Love the Dead.”

What list wouldn’t be complete without Blue Oyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear the Reaper?” OK, it’s a rhetorical question because there are probably a ton of lists that would be complete without it, but that’s beside the point. The point is, this song mentions Valentine and Romeo and Juliet, so it must be about love, right? No? It’s actually about suicide? Tough. I’m including it. So there. Nyah,

And in “Wake Up and Make Love to Me” by Ian Dury and the Blockheads we probably have the purest love song on my list.

And of course, when discussing love songs, we absolutely have to include “Bad Touch” by the Bloodhound Gang. No, really, we do.

There, I hope you’ve come to have a deeper appreciation of the genre that is love songs. They don’t all have to be by Barry Manilow to get their point across.

-30-

3 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Love Songs

Leave a Reply

