Happy Earth Day!

I participated in the first Earth Day back in 1970. Yes, I’m that old. I remember going to a park near the Milwaukee river as a Cub Scout, maybe I was a Webelos at that point, and picking up trash in the park.

I also remember being warned not to go near the Milwaukee river. It was polluted, with a greyish oily color to it. And it smelled. These were in the days when factories still dumped untreated toxic wastes into rivers and streams all across the nation.

We’ve come a long way, baby. Water is nearly drinkable. The air is nearly breathable. I can look out my window and hardly see any litter. Which means what?

It means we’ve only just begun. Grab a garbage bag and go out there and pick up the trash, people! Install CFL bulbs throughout your house, or if you don’t like yellow lighting, see if you can find the new LED bulbs!

Reduce. Recycle. Reuse.

Happy Earth Day!

-30-

Leave a Reply

