Didja evah?

Did you ever get too many ideas pounding around in your head that you feel like you’re being spun off in so many directions that you don’t know what to do?

That’s how I feel right now. I started a new WIP yesterday, got something like 1200 words into it. Today, I sat down to work on it, and something else was nagging at me, saying, “Go finish this project before starting on that one.” While at the same time, another new idea has popped in that is also begging for attention.

The problem is, if I don’t write these ideas down, I’ll forget them, HOWEVER, if I DO write them down, then the enthusiasm for the project will wane as my mind will think that I wrote the story and it doesn’t need to think about it again.

I guess its a good situation to be in, it means my imagination is running in overdrive, but still, I’d like a little less clamor in my head. It sounds like a busy diner with the buzz of dozens of different conversations, the chink of silverware on plates, the cha-ching of the cash register, the rattling wheeze of the air conditioner, and the waitress shouting orders to the cooks, “Gimme an Adam and Eve on a raft, draw one and make it moo!”

Me, I just want some sinkers and suds and a quiet place to think.

-30-

2 thoughts on “Didja evah?

  1. Yes I do. Then I stop, write it down, and resume finishing the current WIP. Otherwise, I would never finish any of my novels. I will admit, my mind wonders, and when it does, I just add to my book idea page.

Leave a Reply

