NaNoWriMo

At least I think the acronym is NaNoWriMo. I don’t participate. For the one person out there who might not know what NaNoWriMo stands for, it’s National Novel Writing Month, which is November. Its where a whole slew of writers sit down and try to write a novel in 30 days.

Some do it for themselves, others for the competition (I believe there’s an official website where you can sign up for this torture), and still others do it simply because, like Sir Edmond Hillary, it was there.

I don’t participate. I write at my own pace and don’t need that kind of stress. I’m a classic Type B personality and honestly don’t understand what I’d be competing for. Just to say I did it? That’s not my cup of tea.

I’m a Taoist type writer. I believe in the concepts of Wu Wei, which means “without action” and P’u, which is translated as “uncarved block.” Without getting too indepth, let me say that the concept behind it all is that the universe works harmoniously in its own way. When someone tries to exert his will against the universe, it disrupts that harmony.

The same can be said of my writing. Ideas and concepts work at their own pace within me. Were I to try and speed that up, forcing myself to write at a faster pace, I’d be working against the very creative flow I’m trying to employ.

In other words, I tried a NaNoWriMo once and it backfired on me, putting me into a period of creative constipation that lasted nearly 6 months.

I’d simply prefer not going through that again.

You have fun. I’ll just move at my own pace.

-30-

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I like your concepts, Ed. 🙂

    I am attempting NaNo for the first time this year. For me, it’s not about the competition, or the little banner thingy I can get at the end, it’s to try and instil some discipline and routine into my writing, two things I severely lack. 😉

    Adam

  2. It’s a great write, Ed. I didn’t care for it in the beginning when all the writers whispered and gathered notes in preparation, but I truly enjoyed it and don’t regret it for a minute.

    I also got a great novel out of it. Now if only someone can kick me in the butt to finish revising it.

Leave a Reply

