The Tortoise and the Hare

A couple writer friends of mine have changed their method of writing, returning to a slower time when people used pen and paper to write. They feel by going slow they can concentrate more on each word, each sentence, each paragraph.

And it’s working for them.

Which is pretty cool if you can try something and make it work for you.

I’ve tried pen and paper. It’s too slow for me. It’s just not my style. I’ve been typing since I was thirteen, quickly mastered touch typing and never looked back. My mind is hardwired to the keyboard and I can get the story down quickly, efficiently, keeping up with my thoughts. Handwriting is like putting a huge dam between my imagination and the paper.

My mind needs to get the ideas down on paper as quickly as I can, fingers flying across the keyboard with a machine gun-like rat-a-tat-tat. I need to get it on paper or the thoughts logjam, getting stuck, confused, or lost, and typing allows me to keep up. Everything flows smoothly from beginning to end. For me, the first draft is a skeleton of the story anyway, as I’ve mentioned before, and it needs to be fleshed out in the rewrites.

So it is later on during subsequent drafts and rewrites that I can take it slow and concentrate on the words, on the sound of the sentences. After the story is written I can lavish my attention upon each and every sentence, polishing and detailing until they all shine. That’s when I take my time, slowing down to smell the prose roses.

So although I might be a hare in the beginning, I’m a tortoise in the end.

Writers are individuals and what works for one writer might not work for another. I’m happy my friends can write with pen and paper and meet with success. That’s just not how I operate.

-30-

2 thoughts on “The Tortoise and the Hare

  1. [i always wanted to write a short story using only pen and paper, only thing that’s missing is the story. I a pretty good one building up on my laptop but then it died and I lost track of the whole story and it’s now lost unfortunately]

    [hopefully a new story will crop up soon]

Leave a Reply

