Summer Reading

I’ve always heard of a Summer Reading List. I never really understood it. Did that mean these people only read in the Summer?

Or is it a different list from their Autumn Reading List and the Winter and Spring Reading Lists?

I don’t know. That’s why I ask.

But I’ve been in a concentration drought for several years now, unable to focus on a novel, unable to finish them without getting distracted by something else. I believe the novels I actually finished over the past 2 or 3 years could have been counted on the fingers of one hand. Seriously. I remember finishing Edgar Rice Burroughs The Princess of Mars last year. I can’t really recall what else I finished.

Case in point, I started Bram Stoker’s Dracula Christmas of last year. I’m about 80% done and haven’t touched it in months. I also started Jules Verne’s Journey to the Center of the Earth sometime in January or February. I’m only halfway through that and again, haven’t touched in over a month.

Needless to say, I’ve been rather concerned. Worried even.

But, then suddenly, and delightfully, in the last month the dam burst and I’ve been on a reading roll. I started with Earl Derr Biggers House Without a Key. It’s the first Charlie Chan novel. I read it back in the early 1970s and I thought I’d give it a go again. It was as good as I remembered and I finished it in less than a couple weeks.

Then I read Satan’s Murder Machines, by Norvell Page. It is a pulp novel of The Spider, Master of Men and part of a 3-novel collection called Robot Titans of Gotham, with illustrations by Jim Steranko. I’d never read a The Spider adventure before despite being a huge fan of Doc Savage, The Shadow, and The Avenger. It was enjoyable and now I’m disappointed that I didn’t read his adventures when they were more widely available during their reprint heyday in the 70s.

And last night I just finished Die Trying by Lee Child. It’s a Jack Reacher novel. I’ve never heard of either Jack Reacher or Lee Child, but someone recommended it and I gave it a try. I finished it in about a week. If you know what a slow reader I am and you know that this was about a 500+ page book, then you can see I couldn’t put it down. Good stuff.

Now I’m going over my To Be Read list for the next book to devour. As long as I’m on a roll, I might as well keep it going.

What have you read this summer so far?

-30-

Leave a Reply

