Ancestry dot com

My aunt from Kansas had come into town a few weeks back. She brought with her this detailed family history of my mother’s side of the family. It’s pretty interesting. Whoever did it was very thorough and it goes all the way back to 1743.

So I got a little interested and thought I’d join Ancestry.com for their free 14 day trial to see what they had for my father’s side of the family.

So far, I’m extremely disappointed. I was hoping for it to be more interactive, with more connectivity, and definitely more information. Meaning, if I type in my father’s name, it should be able to give me his parents, then their parents, and so on.

Well, it doesn’t. It doesn’t do shit. You type in my dad’s name. You get my dad’s name. Pretty little else. I type in his dad’s father’s name and the same thing. I guess to use Ancestry.com you have to already KNOW your family tree. Which seems rather defeating in it’s purpose. If I knew my family tree, why the hell do I need to spend $155 a year on Ancestry.com?

And the problem is, I don’t know my father’s side of the family. That side is uncommunicative. I haven’t talked to anyone, outside my own brother, in decades. To give you an idea of how close we are, my own grandfather, my father’s father, had died and they finally got around to telling me SIX MONTHS LATER!

Um, thanks. I managed to find his gravesite on my own and I go on occasion to do some lawn maintenance around it. I’m sure no one else has visited it since his death in 1987.

Anyway, since I don’t have any information beyond my grandfather and grandmother on my father’s side, I can’t do anything else with Ancestry dot com. I would have thought it would give at least parents names for the children there. Or the reverse, the children of the parents. It does neither. What it does, in fact, is it gives you squat.

Therefore, unless I’m missing something, this site is almost as big a waste and scam as Classmates.com.

Nevertheless, I did find something interesting on myself. According to them, I’m listed in the 3rd, 4th, and 5th editions of the Who’s Who in Writers, Editors & Poets. United States & Canada, which were printed in 1989, 1992, and 1995, respectively.

Weird.

But not worth $155.

-30-

5 thoughts on “Ancestry dot com

  1. Ancestry dot com is pricey, but methinks you’re expecting way too much out of it to begin with. Genealogy is a hobby some folks engage in for life. It takes a long, long, very long time to track down even small bits of information.

    Right before I took up writing again, I spent two or three years actively researching my family. Yes, I found some things, but I also invested a multitude of hours to get to that point. Bottom line–if you’re not willing to spend the time, don’t spend the bucks.

    And if you’re interested, here’s a link to the LDS genealogy site. No, they don’t just follow LDS people. It’s an excellent site, and it’s free. Hope you find something.

    http://www.familysearch.org/eng/default.asp

  2. My cousin has went the ancestry.com route for our family history since anything about my maternal grandfather’s family is locked up in, “I don’t know.” My cousin ended up paying, I think, but with my grandmother’s assistance, and we found out some info about my mother’s father’s heritage. I know when I was doing some exploration, you had to pay to get any kind of good information, and I gave up.My cousin has managed to find quite a bit more. Hopefully you do too!

  3. I’ve thought about that site, but thanks to you, I won’t be testing it! My husband’s dad is big with that stuff and has books and books of their ancestry. I’m kinda interested, but not enough to pay money for nothing.

Leave a Reply

