Flashback Friday – Miracle on 34th Street

Christmas Eve is a week away, and I’ve been lax with posting Old Time Radio episodes featuring Christmas. For that I apologize, and to make up for it, I present “Miracle on 34th Street,” arguably one of the best Santa Claus stories ever. This OTR episode stars Edmund Qwenn, the actor who played such a wonderful Santa Claus in the original movie, along with the other original stars, John Payne and Maureen O’Hara.

Lux Radio Theater was one of the most popular anthology on OTR. It ran from 1934 to 1955 on NBC Blue Network, CBS, and NBC. It originally adapted broadway plays before adapting films and was broadcast before a live audience. It even continued on to television for most of the 1950s.

Lux Radio Theater
Episode:
“Miracle on 34th Street”
Original Air Date:
December 20, 1948
Starring Edmund Gwenn, John Payne, Maureen O’Hara
Run Time:
60:10

Click here to listen to “Miracle on 34th Street.”

I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Previous blogs on OTR:
How I Discovered OTR
A Background
The Shadow
War of the Worlds
Box 13
Christmas Old Time Radio Episodes

Flashback Fridays:
November 26, 2010: Vincent Price as “The Saint”
November 19, 2010: Jimmy Stewart in “The Six Shooter”
November 12, 2010: Blue Ribbon Town starring Groucho Marx
November 05, 2010: Abbott & Costello “Who’s on First”
October 29, 2010: Lights Out “Mister Maggs (The Chest)”
October 22, 2010: Inner Sanctum “The Deadly Dummy”
October 15, 2010: Agnes Moorehead in “Sorry, Wrong Number”
October 8, 2010: Suspense: “The Dunwich Horror”
October 1, 2010: Dimension X: “Report on the Barnhouse Effect”

-30-

5 thoughts on “Flashback Friday – Miracle on 34th Street

  1. Interesting. This last week, I listened to “It’s A Wonderful Life” on Lux Radio, again with the same actors as the movie performing the radio play. I almost preferred the radio play.

    • I listen to a station on my cell phone’s music player–some guy broadcasts round the clock on a station on Shoutcast. There is some repeating programs, but that was on the other night. I am interested to see what is broadcasting closer to Christmas.

  2. Yeah, I think I had that OTR app…It worked for a while, and then just died. My phone has a music player that allows me to access local FM bands, my mp3s loaded on my phone’s memory, or SHOUTcast radio. The website for it is http://www.shoutcast.com/. Anyway, they have their own OTR category. The one I listen to is MPIR because it usually takes about 15 seconds to load and doesn’t have to sync back to the server. Typical variety like Dragnet, Suspense, Whistler, Johnny Dollar, but I’ve heard several Lux Radio Theater productions too. I love having it on my cell; some programs are good bedtime stories! :p

Leave a Reply

