Television Tuesday

I often wonder if I didn’t have so much crap from my childhood crammed inside my brain, if I might actually remember something important. But no use wondering about it, might as well just bother you with my memories.

So I was thinking about old commercials I remember from my childhood and thought I’d share my vast knowledge of where certain phrases that made it into the public lexicon came from. These were the “Where’s the beef?” of my time.

This is a Chiffon margarine commercial. It’s where the phrase, “It’s not nice to fool Mother Nature,” came from.

And here is a Calgon commercial, where the phrase, “Ancient chinese secret” came from.

And of course, we’ve all heard “Ring around the collar!”

Shake-n-Bake had the expression, “It’s Shake-n-Bake, and I helped.” Here we have twins saying it. I find it interesting that the two kids have thick southern drawls, but the mom doesn’t seem to.

And no list would be complete without, “He likes it. Hey, Mikey!”

And now you know, or partially know, what goes on in my head all the time.

-30-

Leave a Reply

