I didn’t know I was an artist

If you had asked me a while back if I had any artistic talent, I’d have quickly and firmly said, “No. None.”

Because I can’t draw my way out of a paper bag. Sure I doodle on pages when bored. Usually just squiggly lines, spirals, squares within squares within squares. Sometimes maybe a rocket, or the Enterprise, or Seaview (from Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea), or even the Jupiter II (from Lost in Space). But they’re crude pencil or pen doodles and usually only I recognize what they are.

So imagine my surprise when I was looking through my mom’s house and I found an old sketchbook. To be honest, I don’t even remember having a sketchbook, much less actually drawing in it. Well, I did. And I was amazed by what I found.

So I thought I’d share. I scanned some of the pages. Unfortunately, my scanning bed is smaller than the sketchpages, so some of the edges are cut off. I apologize for that. If you want me to scan the entire page, please buy me a new, larger scanner.

While you’re at it, a HDTV would be nice, too.

Thanks.

Anyway, here is the art.

Page 1:
Page 1
The Thing is saying, “The world will be destroyed in minutes!” And the Human Torch says, “Unless we can stop it!”

Page 2:
Page 2
Annihilus says, “And I’m destroying it! Haha!”

Page 3:
Page 3
Annihilus says, “And I’ll destroy it from within this!”

Page 4:
Page 4
Special Guest Star! Alfred E. Newman says, “I’ll stop you!”

Page 5:
Page 5
Annihilus screams: “Agggg! Th-that face. I-I G-Give Up!!”
The end.

Then I drew some Spy vs. Spy:
Photobucket

Photobucket

There were some more drawings. A dolphin. Some Star Trek Enterprise drawings. Then some sloppy Captain American drawings.

But when I found this I was stunned. I had no idea I ever had any talent in this area. I don’t remember ever doing it. I certainly don’t know why I abandoned it. Especially if you consider my love of comic books. I estimate that I was probably in 8th or 9th grade at the time, so what would that make me? 14 or 15 years old?

So these drawings have gotten me interested in drawing again. I’d like to learn how to do it again and see if I can become any good. Now I just need to find some simple beginning art books.

-30-

Leave a Reply

