Coffee by the cup

So everyone has seen or heard of these single-cup coffee makers made famous by Keurig.

I was at the store trying to figure out what the big deal is and saw that there are quite a few variations, including knock-offs by Mr Coffee that even use the Keurig K-cups. Knock-offs that ran $20 to $30 cheaper than the cheapest Keurig that runs $100.

Which, of course, makes my frugal heart leap into my throat. I’m the guy who bought a $5 coffee maker at Target (which today I saw now goes for $9.95) and was proud of his frugality.

But aside from being cheap, I like to drink coffee. In the morning I’ll often down several cups within a few minutes before I settle down to sipping.

So to me, a single cup maker would be frustratingly slow and inconvenient, not to mention wasteful. All those little k-cups, with all that extra packaging, just seems so environmentally unfriendly.

But I can’t imagine putting in a k-cup, making a cup, taking the cup out and as I drink it, replacing the k-cup, the coffee cup, and brewing again as I finish the first, then starting the whole process over again.

And if you do go green and use the refillable k-cups, well, that’s another step, isn’t it? Taking out the hot grounds, dumping them out, cleaning the filter, adding fresh grounds… No, thanks.

I’ll stick with my $5 coffee maker.

I do need a new tea kettle though.

-30-

4 thoughts on “Coffee by the cup

    • I know! That’s because you’re paying for all the packaging, not the product. I’m not sure why anyone wouldn’t buy the k-cup reusable filters and just buy their own coffee.

      In a way, that might actually work in our family because my wife and son both drink flavored coffees and when they make a flavor I don’t like, I’m stuck until they finish it. But in that case, I think the solution is a caraf, which would still be cheaper than a Keurig.

  1. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the
    same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

    A blog site regarding modern technology: imageryer.com (Chanel)

Leave a Reply

