No longer a chore

Today was a first.

I’ve been running regularly, three times a week, for about two months? I don’t recall. As I said, I didn’t start a running diary, so my first week of regular running is lost in the mists of time.

But I’ll go with a couple months.

Each day that I was due to run was just a day. I knew I planned on running that evening, but it never entered my conscious throughout the day. I never thought about it, I just got on the treadmill in the evening and ran.

Today was different. Today, I woke up wanting to run. I woke up and thought, “Today is Thursday! My run day!” Today, I woke up looking forward to my run.

And I spent the day in anticipation of that run. The day couldn’t go by fast enough.

You know what that means, right? Running has gone from something I had to force myself to do each time, to something I want to do. It’s gone from a task and become a habit.

motivation-is-what-gets-you-started-habit-is-what-keeps-you-going-quote-1

Today, I’ve become a runner.

-30-

 

3 thoughts on “No longer a chore

Leave a Reply

