Inclined to run

If you’ve been following this blog lately, you know that the last few months I’ve been running, slowly increasing pace and distance until I’ve reached 5k in 36 minutes, about a steady 5 mph pace.

I also alternate slow, 4.5 mph pace, with a fast, 6 to 6.5 mph pace. I also end the run with an 8mph pace for the last tenth  or two tenths mile.

But I’ve hardly used the incline function.

I decided to try it last night. I used one of the preset interval incline programs. I set my speed at what I thought would be a manageable 4.5 mph pace.

The program started out at 4.2 mph with an incline of 4. I’ll call it percent until I check the manual.

It seemed manageable. Then the next interval it jumped up to 8% and the speed increased to the preprogrammed 4.5 mph.

Already. My. Legs. Were. Burning. And. I. Was. Struggling. To. Breathe.

The program went to Recovery, two intervals of 4% incline at 4.5 mph.

But I wasn’t recovering. I was gasping for breathe and my heart rate was between 157 and 162.

The program jumped back to  8% incline and at this point I’m thinking, “It’s going to kill me. I’m going to die.”

When it finally went back to Recovery, I think I was only 7 or 8 minutes into the 20 minute time I had set. I’d had enough. So I punched the pace down to about 3.8 mph, which for me translates into a very fast walk.

I kept it that speed until the next Recovery when I increased the pace to 4.2 mph and after that I alternated slow 3.8 when it was 8% incline and a little faster when it was at 4% incline.

When the run finally ended, I was drenched in as much sweat doing those 20 minutes for a total of 1.41 miles as I ever was running my 5ks.

And my heart rate never dropped out of the 150s. In comparison, I can keep my heart rate in the 140s when I run without any incline.

So lesson learned? Incline kicks my ass and I’ll be making at least one workout each week an incline run.

Go. Run. Try new things.

-30-

Leave a Reply

