Wait don’t weight

One thing I’ve learned over the years is don’t sweat your weigh-in. I know some people who become obsessed with weighing themselves and not only do it daily, but several times a day.

This can be self-destructive because progress takes time. Taking hourly weight measurements is frustrating because our weight fluctuates throughout the day. Even day to day our weight changes depending on what we’ve eaten, the temperature, if we’re retaining water, and so on.

I generally weigh myself once a week. But even then I don’t really get hung up on the nimbers.

For instance, I’ve hit a plateau and my weight hasn’t changed since the beginning of August.

Have I stopped making progress? Not really. Several things have been going on.

Injury. Since the middle of August, I’ve had a nagging hip/glute/thigh injury that has made me reduce my running routine. Without the consistency of an aerobic workout three or four times a week, my body hasn’t been burning calories as efficiently as it should be.

Weight-training. To compensate for the injury and a possible muscle imbalance, I’ve been lifting weights: doing squats, quad extensions, calf raises, and hamstring curls. It’s possible that I’ve been building muscle. As I build muscle, it might cause my weight to fluctuate, even increase. Muscle and fat weigh the same but muscle is denser and takes up less space.

Take measurements. Unfortunately, I haven’t been taking body measurements to see if I’m still progressing toward a fitter me. I did take measurements a year ago, but I haven’t since. Why? I can’t find the tape measure or that notebook. Yeah, I know. I’m a dweeb.

But my pants are looser at the waist, so that is an indication that I’m losing fat (not necessarily weight).

My advice is throw away your scale or at least cut back how often you step on it. Once a week at the most. Any more often and you will just get frustrated if you don’t see the weight you want to see.

Don’t sweat the small stuff and the small stuff are those numbers on your scale.

And I just finished a 2 mile treadmill run at a 5 mph pace. I don’t want to push things. The leg is getting better, but I’ll still take it slow and easy for at least the next 3 or 4 runs, just to play it safe.

I don’t like being injured and I’m impatient when it comes to rehab but pushing things isn’t the smart thing to do.

Do you have any tips when it comes to weight loss progress or even rehabbing an injury?

-30-

One thought on “Wait don’t weight

Leave a Reply

