Morning people suck

Sunday I ran in the morning.

I’m not a morning person.

I’ve never been a morning person.

The only time I ever voluntarily got up early in the morning was Christmas morning as a child, eager to see what Santa had left under the tree.

Otherwise, I sleep in on my days off.

I follow several running sites on Facebook and elsewhere, such as Runner’s World, Women’s Running Magazine, etc cetera.

One thing I’ve noticed, and find extremely annoying, is the number of articles they post concerning how wonderful and healthy and energizing running in the morning is.

Heck, they are so exalting in their praise of the morning run that I’m waiting for titles such as, “Morning runs cure cancer!” or “World Peace achieved through morning runs!”

In other words, I think these articles are a little over-the-top with their views, as if morning runners are the most advanced humans on the planet.

There are morning people and there are night owls and never the twain shall meet. Recently, they even had an article by someone claiming not to have been a morning person but after giving it a try, they became a morning person.

I call bull shit.

One does not transform into a morning person simply by getting up a few mornings and running. If that were the case, nearly everyone would have become a morning person simply because we all have to get up early for 12 years of schooling, then many more years of going to work.

But it doesn’t happen that way. It never has for me.

And that’s why Sunday was an anomaly.

Yes, I did get up to run in the morning. Granted, it was 10:00 am, but that’s still morning. I even had some coffee prior to running.

But the run itself? I tried. Really. But I only made it 1-1/4 miles. For me, the first mile is the hardest, after that my body clicks into autopilot and the remaining part of the run passes by relatively easily and quickly.

In other words, the first mile seems to take forevah, but the rest of the run passes by so quickly, I’m often surprised how far I’ve gone.

My attempt at a morning run was one big fail. I never became energized, it never started to feel wonderful, I never got in the zone, and I never experienced the runners high.

I continued to feel tired and worn out. It still felt like morning.

So I quit. Then in the evening I tried again. And after the first mile, I hit my rhythm and kept going for almost another mile. I only stopped because of my recent thigh injury and worries that an extended run would cause it to flare up again.

So you see, not all of us are morning people. Not all of us can get up the required motivation and energy to run in the morning.

Some of us prefer running in the evening, especially after work the run will burn off the stress and pressures of the day. Running in the evening relaxes us so we can get a good night’s sleep.

Running in the morning is good for morning people. Running in the evening is good for evening people. Trying to say one is better for everyone than another is just silly. It’s like asking which is prettier, a sunrise or sunset? Depends on your perspective at the time.

062-2

Sunrise or sunset?

Just once I’d like to see a positive post from one of the running sites extolling the virtues of evening running.

But I won’t hold my breath.

And morning people don’t suck. I just said that to get your attention. You’re all a little weird, but you don’t suck.

Unless you keep trying to get me to run in the morning with you.

(And just for the record, I had tried morning runs when I was much younger, but they were miserable as well. Sunday, was an experiment to see if anything had changed. Nothing had.)

Run. Relax. Get plenty of rest.

-30-

One thought on “Morning people suck

Leave a Reply

