The landing debate continues

The more I hear about how runners should midfoot strike (not heel strike), the more I’m inclined to ask the question: What the hell is the midfoot?

Physically the midfoot is the middle part of your foot made up of the bones that  form your  arch and connect the heel to the forefoot.

So technically, since it’s your arch and the side of your foot, you can’t actually strike there because there is nothing there to strike.

You can land on your heel. You can land on your forefoot. But when you land “midfoot,” what you’re actually doing is landing on your heel and forefoot simultaneously; this is known in the parlance as landing flat-footed.

Or landing on the whole foot, or the foot.

But if those “midfoot” runners  just said, “I’m landing on my foot,” we’d all go, Yeah, OK. So you’re running?

And they’d lose all the coolness they think saying “midfoot” brings  because that’s what it’s all about, these fads, the coolness factor.

And without coolness, they can’t feel superior to us heel strikers. And they can’t say things like, “When you heel strike, you stop” or “Heel striking shocks your frame and causes injuries.”

Neither of which is true. I heel strike, even after I adjusted my stride length. My feet land just slightly ahead of me, just like midfoot strikers, but my heel touches down first. It’s just the way it is.

So the next time someone smugly says, “I land midfoot,” say, “Oh, so you land on your foot? How satisfying that must be for you.”

Because sarcasm beats smugness everytime.

Run. Land on your foot. Enjoy.

-30-

Leave a Reply

