Review Puma Mobium Elite V2

Ok, I know I promised a review of my Puma Mobium Elite V2 running shoes months ago. If you’ve actually been waiting for it, I apologize. But here it is. I hope the wait was worth it.

First, we’ll get the disclaimer out of the way. I have not been compensated for this review (but if you would like to send me a check, feel free). Nor am I affiliated with Puma or any running shoe company or store. I do admit, however, that I have always had a thing for Puma, although the last pair I actually used for running was in 1984.

There. That was relatively painless. 

I’ve had my pair of Puma Mobium Elite V2 running shoes for several months now. My first impressions of them were that they were lighter and more flexible than either my Brooks Adrenaline or my Saucony Grid Cohesion  (now retired to walking shoes), but they also had less cushioning.

Now, months later, I run almost exclusively in the Puma Mobiums. The pair I have aren’t for heel strikers, at least not extreme heel strikers, yet they’ve become more and more comfortable with each run. Maybe I adjusted my stride a little to become more of a midfoot striker, but that’s been an ongoing process and not something forced upon me by the shoe.

Also, considering I have flat feet and overpronate, I haven’t had any foot or joint pain despite the fact that these are more minimal than anything I’m used to. 

The soles have a rubber band (Mobium band) that Puma claims stretches as the foot flexes then releases all that kinetic energy when you push off. In effect, its supposed to be like snapping a rubberband. I don’t know if it does or not but I will admit that it felt like my step was springier on my outdoor runs, as if I was a little lighter.

The soles also have an arch in them where the Mobium band crosses in its figure 8 shape (see second picture below). I’m going to assume this absorbs some of the shock of your foot strike whereas other companies use thicker cushioning material to insulate your foot.

Additionally, Puma says the sole is designed like a cat’s paw. Sure. Ok. You can see the sole pictured below. I don’t know if they provide more grip as claimed, but they do seem very flexible.

The toe box is roomy, both width-wise and in front and my toes don’t feel crammed in there, nor do they rub against the front like they do with some shoes. Puma claims the shoe fabric conforms to your foot somehow. Adaptive running they call it. I don’t know if it does but I didn’t get that pinched feel across the top of my foot I get with other shoes.

To be honest, when I bought these my expectations were very low. All my other so-called running shoes from Puma were anything but made for running. They were more fashion than function. I was worried the Puma Mobiums would also turn out to be just another pair of good looking walkers. But I was pleasantly surprised to find these are an actual honest-to-goodness pair of running shoe and, despite the cool colors, aren’t just a fashion statement.

The Puma Mobium Elite V2 are now my go-to running shoes and I use them for the majority of my runs, preferring them to my Brooks Adrenaline, which had been my previous go-to shoes.

I’m happy Puma is finally concentrating on R&D in their running shoe development instead of relying on their marketing department.

If you’re looking for a comfortable, light weight trainer, then consider looking at a pair of these.

Run. Buy new shoes.Run some more.

-30-

Leave a Reply

