Say pineapple

Why is it called a “cold?”

I looked it up and I’d tell you but I forgot already. Mostly it has to do with occurring during the colder months so people associated it with the cold and came to call it a cold.

It’s most likely a rhinovirus I have. It’s kicking my ass. I felt it coming on last Wednesday and my plan was to run that night. I wonder if running would kill it or reduce it?

Supposedly, the virus incubates in your nose because it’s colder (86°F/32°C) in your snoz than the rest of your body which is 98°F/37°C.

Thus I was curious if running would raise the temperature enough to stop it from spreading.

Unfortunately, by the time I got home, the cold was already giving me a runny nose, congestion, a cough, as well as muscular aches, fatigue, headache, and muscle weakness.

I was too pooped to run. I could barely make it up and down the stairs I ached so much.

So I didn’t run. And haven’t run yet.Nor can I focus enough to read or write. So today is day 5 of being held hostage by the rhinovirus.

The big drawback is, supposedly you should lose your appetite. I didn’t! I’ve been hungry all the time. So I snacked and snacked and snacked and imagine I’ve put on holiday-worthy pounds.

The other issue with colds and me is that I cannot take the majority of cold medicines. Even though those don’t really work anyway, at least they reduce your symptoms. Pick up any cold medicine and read the list of Warnings, specifically the “Do not use if you have…” and I have several of those listed.

So the only thing I can safely use is Vicks Vap-o-rub. That and a netipot. Consider yourselves lucky. Most of you can take the nighttime, sniffling, sneezing, aching, coughing, stuffy-head, fever, so you can rest medicine.

But the worst seems behind me now. Maybe tomorrow I can run. That’ll make it a week since my last run while eating like a pig.

I am not going to weigh myself. I don’t need that kind a negative feedback. I’ll just try to get back on track (no pun intended) with my diet and exercise and count this last week as a bust.

Sorry. I’m done whining now.

Oh, and the title refers to a factoid my youngest son said, that if someone is going to sneeze, say “pineapple” and they won’t.

Run. Cough. Sniff.

-30-

Leave a Reply

