A tale of two shoes

Here’s a quick first impression of both my new running shoes that I acquired on Saturday.

Hoka One One Clifton 3

2017-03-11 19.08.35

First I ran in the Hoka One One Clifton 3 running shoes. This is my first experience with Hoka One One shoes of any sort.

I ran intervals in them on the treadmill. A set of 2 minutes walking, 2 minutes running moderate pace, then 1 minute sprinting at 8 mph.

I was very pleased with them. They were like running on a mattress. Lots of cushion. I tend to land rather heavy and they absorbed it pretty well. My one fear was that I’d feel unstable on them, because that is a complaint I sometimes hear from people who have tried Hoka One One shoes. It’s also how I felt in the Puma Bioweb pair I have. You ride rather high and there’s this feeling like you’ll twist an ankle. Not with the Clifton 3 shoes. They felt just right. No instability. No feeling like I was on stilts. They felt secure even with all that cushioning.

First impression: I like the Clifton 3. They are a good trainer on the treadmill. I hope to try them on cement when the weather gets better (and my weight). I hope they’re as cushiony on cement as they are on the treadmill.

Brooks GTS Adrenaline 17

2017-03-14 20.44.31

Uecker is comparing the Brooks GTS Adrenaline 16 (top) and 17 (bottom)

I ran in these today. Put in a good long 5k run on the treadmill at a faster pace (for me), which is faster than the moderate pace I use in the intervals, but still slower than a sprint.

The shoes fit well, didn’t seem to create any hot spots, and were very stable. I’ve changed my running style from when I first started running in the Brooks GTS Adrenaline 16 shoes I just retired. I was a heel striker and I’d overpronate as my foot rolled from the heel to the toe.

Now with my running style I land more midfoot, so I wonder if I need a stability shoe as much since my foot doesn’t roll as severely as it would have striking with my heel first, but I like these shoes any way.

There seems to be more bounce in the midsole with the 17 than with the 16, a complaint I originally had with my first pair of Brooks.

Other nice changes:

  1. There is a bigger protective toe cap for the 17 than the 16, which just had an inch wide extension of the outsole. The 17 also has that inch wide extension, but there is now a harder protective piece of plastic that extends around the toe so the fabric won’t get scuffed.
  2. There seems to be an extra stabilizing strip along the outside of the upper (the black strip on the bottom shoe) compared to the 16.
  3. The 17 also has an extra reflecting strip on the toe instead of just at the heel.

My 16 are size 11, which is only 1/2 a size larger than my foot. I decided to go to an 11-1/2 this time because my toes were cramped in the smaller shoe (that’s what I get for listening to the salesman) and the tips of my toes rubbed against the inside of the toe box, which caused my toes to hurt. (I have a split nail on one toe that really hurts when I run in too short a length shoe.) The 17 are much roomier, but I can’t say that’s because the toe box is wider and more open or if it’s just a case of the extra 1/2 size of leeway inside.

First Impression: I like the Brooks GTS Adrenaline 17 much more than I did the 16. I just never felt comfortable running in the 16. They were too hard, too cramped, and I was just dissatisfied with them, which is why I tried to replace them with a pair of Saucony (fail), and alternated them with my Puma Mobius (which I’m going to use for trail running now that I have these two for treadmill/road running.

Disclaimer: I have never claimed to be a reviewer. I’m just a guy who runs and writes about the run. Additionally, I am not compensated for my reviews. Who the hell would pay me to write this shit?

Run. Switch shoes. Run again.

-30-

 

Leave a Reply

