TGIF

A few thoughts this TGIFriday…

Mile-a-Day Running Challenge

Day 9. If there are any changes or benefits happening to me, they are so subtle that I don’t notice them. Unless you count being stiffer than normal.

Although I have been finding that it seems like it is becoming easier to carry my 70-pound Dalmatian up the stairs to our bedroom at night. 

You see, he’s getting old, and already has one lame back leg, so he has trouble climbing stairs. And if I leave him downstairs, he just whines because he wants to be where my wife and I are.

Therefore, I carry the big galoot. The things we do for our pets. Amirite?

Speaking of Aerobics

I know. No one said anything about aerobics, but I needed a segue. 

I’m curious about the aerobic benefits of running just a mile a day. Last I heard, the advice was that to achieve good cardio fitness you needed 20 to 30 minutes of brisk aerobic activity a day at least 3 times a week. 

Maybe that has changed. I also remember for a while they said to exercise briskly at least 12 minutes to see any aerobic benefits. And more recently they were bandying about the idea that it was all cumulative. So if you ran 5 minutes in the morning, 7 minutes in the afternoon, then you’d only need to exercise 8 minutes in the evening to achieve your goal of 20 minutes total aerobic activity for the day. Sounds like horseshit to me spewed by lazy people.
I’m running a mile, briskly yes, but only for 9 minutes. Am I reaping any aerobic benefits or is it all anaerobic? Like, instead of working my heart and lungs, am I just working my butt? Which isn’t a bad thing if I get a nice butt out of it, I guess.

Ok, I just checked. The American Heart Association now recommends:

  • For Overall Cardiovascular Health — at least 30 minutes of moderate-intensity aerobic exercise 5 days per week for a total of 150 minutes OR at least 25 minutes of vigorous aerobic activity at least 3 days per week for a total of 75 minutes; or a combination of moderate- and vigorous-intensity aerobic activity AND moderate- to high-intensity muscle strengthening activity at least 2 days per week for additional health benefits.
  • For Lowering Blood Pressure and Cholesterol — 40 minutes of moderate to vigorous intensity aerobic activity 3 or 4 times per week.

Now you know. 

Weigh-in Friday

Now your think with running a mile every day I’d lost weight, right? Wrong. I gained again.

I’m up to  202.8 pounds, up 1.8 pounds from my last weigh-in. But I’m not down. Do you know why? Because it looks like my Average Fat percentage went down 3.4% while my Average Muscle Percentage went up 2.3%. 

In other words, while my weight may have increased, I still lost fat and gained muscle. And we all know muscle weighs more than fat, right?

Go me.

Zipper Ajar

Cars have warning pings if you have a door ajar or someone fails to fasten their seatbelt. My Fiat has a particularly annoying ping if someone fails to seatbelt up. 

It would be nice if pants had that feature as well. It would have alerted me twice this week.

Orange Turd rant/

This morning King Orange Turd tweeted, “…and WOW, Comey is such a leaker.” after James Comey, former FOB Director testified on the Hill. 

Really? We’re getting tweets that sound like a 5th Grader wrote them from the Leader of the most powerful nation on Earth? What next? Calling someone lame-o or rat fink? Maybe he’ll start saying things like, “so’s your old man!”

He is an embarrassment to not only the United States, but humanity, as well.

/endrant 

-30-

Leave a Reply

